Breathe

 

Sebastian L.L All RIghts Reserved

Sebastian L.L
All RIghts Reserved

When life knocks you down, sometimes it’s best to stay down.

The past few days have been days of failure. Each time I have tried to make the effort to pick myself up, dust off, and keep going. Each new failure has hurt worse, each time it’s harder to pick up and keep going.

Maybe sometimes it’s best to stay down, feel the pain, lick the wounds and not pretend that your immune to the hit. Maybe it’s best to let yourself go through the phases of recovery at your own pace.

I’m tired, really tired, and sad. I’m frustrated with myself. And, for now, I’m not going to pick myself up and carry on. I’m listening to myself. I know I’ve been damaging myself, and will only do so further if I carry on how I was. I need to slow for a while, to take a deep breath.

So this is a brief post about listening to yourself, and for me to remember that i’m no better than anyone else out there with mental illness. Why should I believe that I have the capacity to overcome it at the snap of fingers, when I don’t expect it of others?

 

One thought on “Breathe

Leave a Reply

